Changes for Logic Stage Modern

The reality of having six children and homeschooling students from grades 8 down to kindergarten have forced me to alter things a bit.  I’ll be utilizing free online literature guides (linked in each lesson) as well as paid Brave Writer guides in my lesson plans.  I am including writing assignments in my lessons, too.

You can probably make my lesson plans work without the Brave Writer guides, but if you want to purchase them you will get the best deal by buying a “Back Issue Bundle” through Homeschool Buyer’s Co-Op.  I’ll be referencing the following Brave Writer Boomerang guides (The Hound of the Baskervilles wasn’t one of the bundle options, but it can be purchased through Brave Writer’s website directly):

  • The Call of the Wild/White Fang
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles
  • Anne of Green Gables
  • The Chosen
  • Murder on the Orient Express
  • Animal Farm
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • Ender’s Game

I made some changes in the literature selections, too.  Here is the revised list:

  • Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne (pub. 1873)
  • The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane (pub. 1895) (instead of Gone with the Wind)
  • The Call of the Wild by Jack London (pub. 1903)
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (pub. 1901 – 1902)
  • Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery (1908)
  • War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells (pub. 1898)
  • The Chosen by Chaim Potok (pub. 1967) (instead of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas)
  • Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie (pub. 1934)
  • Animal Farm by George Orwell (pub. 1945)
  • Short Stories Unit: “The Machine Stops” by E. M. Forster (pub. 1909), “The Ransom of Red Chief” by O. Henry (pub. 1910), and “Harrison Bergeron” by Kurt Vonnegut Jr. (pub. 1961)
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (pub. 1960)
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (pub. 1985)

I’ve got the teacher pages done for Around the World in 80 Days and The Red Badge of Courage.  I plan to finish the teacher pages for the first six books (through War of the Worlds) before I create the student pages.  Once I have both sets of pages finished, I will post the lessons.  I need to make sure I spend my time completing what I need for the in person class I’m teaching this year.  Then I can work on editing the lessons to post them online.

I hope you all are having a great summer!

About Laura

I've been homeschooling since 2005. I have six children (born 2000 - 2012). We are eclectic in our approach with a bit more Well-Trained Mind philosophy over anything else.
This entry was posted in Literature, Logic Stage, Modern Age, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

