Unit 3 is up and info on revised format!

Unit 3 for Classical House of Learning Literature: The Modern Age, Grammar Stage is now available on Lulu.

I have revised the format due further research and experience. I’ve been using this program with my children and have noticed that my oldest daughter in particular really hates writing down answers to questions. I’ve also listened to some of Susan Wise Bauer’s audio lectures, including “What is LiteraryAnalysis? When, Why, and How Should I Teach It?”, “A Plan for Teaching Writing: Focus on the Middle Grades”, and “Great Books: History as Literature”. I’ve realized that she is totally right about not making children write too much and that forcing children to do a lot of written work can kill a love of books. The point of Grammar Stage is to learn to love stories. It is for this reason that I’ve revised the format of CHOLL to be less writing‐intensive and more like The Story of the World activity books, which have narrations and review questions along with additional activity ideas. I’ve omitted discussion about literary devices for Grammar Stage because it doesn’t seem appropriate to include it. Please foster your children’s love of stories by implementing this program in a way that keeps that love intact! ☺

About Laura

I've been homeschooling since 2005. I have six children (born 2000 - 2012). We are eclectic in our approach with a bit more Well-Trained Mind philosophy over anything else.
This entry was posted in Literature, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

