Grammar Stage, Unit 1 for CHOLL Modern is up!

You can see a preview and purchase it for download here.  This file contains Lessons 1 – 6 for Grammar Stage (Teacher Pages and Student Pages for both levels are included).  I’ve updated the graphics and cleaned up some typos.  It’s on sale right now for $5.95.  When I publish Unit 2, the price for Unit 1 will go to the regular price of $9.95.

I’ve retired the old file (Unit 1, Part 1) that contained Grammar, Logic, and Family since I won’t be getting to Logic or Family in the near future.  I’ll be starting work on Grammar Stage, Unit 2 shortly.

Grammar Stage, Unit 2 will include (subject to change):

  1. Lesson 7: Robert Louis Stevenson (selected poems)
  2. Lesson 8: Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (selected poems)
  3. Lesson 9: Kenneth Grahame (The Reluctant Dragon) and Beatrix Potter (selected stories)
  4. Lesson 10: H. G. Wells (The Time Machine)
  5. Lesson 11: John Ciardi (selected poems)
  6. Lesson 12: Review Unit 2
About Laura

I've been homeschooling since 2005. I have six children (born 2000 - 2012). We are eclectic in our approach with a bit more Well-Trained Mind philosophy over anything else.
This entry was posted in Literature, News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grammar Stage, Unit 1 for CHOLL Modern is up!

  1. DotThis says:

    I love this! I looked through the samples and it’s just exactly what I’ve been hoping to find.

    I do have a question about the books. Since these are grammar stage lessons, I would have expected books that grammar stage students can read, yet you’ve chosen books that have been leveled for middle grade. (See http://www.renlearn.com/store/quiz_home.asp#quicksearch to find the level of each book.)

    Heidi, 8.2
    Arthur Conan Doyle, 7.0 to 8.8
    A Little Princess, 6.0

    So my question is: Is the child supposed to read the book himself, or is an adult supposed to read it to him? Or are your lessons meant for gifted readers? I just love what you’ve done, but I’m a little confused about the disconnect between the age/reading level of the students, and the choice of books.

    • Laura says:

      I’m using the list under Grammar Stage in The Well-Trained Mind. In some cases I use an adaptation (A Little Princess, Sherlock Holmes, and Heidi are all adaptations). If no adaptation exists or if the original text could be read by a 4th-grader (target level for Modern), I use the original text, with the understanding that parents can help out for those books. Thanks for your question! 🙂

Leave a Reply

