Four-year history cycle, multi-level classical literature program is in the works!

House of Learning Literature guides are based on the classical model of education as outlined in books such as The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home (Revised and Updated 10th Anniversary Edition) by Jessie Wise and Susan Wise Bauer.  House of Learning Literature is born out of my own experience homeschooling my children and my desire to have an open-and-go, easy-to-use program for family read aloud books and independent readers for each of the four history time periods.

Which time period are you doing first?

First up….The Modern Age!  Explore the works of authors such as Robert Louis Stevenson, Louisa May Alcott, H. G. Wells, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Rudyard Kipling and more!  This time period covers major authors and poets from 1850 C.E. through the present.

Multiple Age Groups

As the mother of five children, I have experience with students spanning a wide age range.  Each House of Learning Literature guide uses selections for Grammar Stage students (roughly grades 1 – 4) and Logic Stage students (roughly grades 5 – 8), as well as books the whole family can enjoy together.  Suggested independent reading selections are included where appropriate.  House of Learning Literature is structured so that (where possible) the whole family is studying the same author, theme, and/or genre.

What’s going to be included?

Each week of lessons in House of Learning Literature will revolve around a particular time period, historical event, or author, using appropriate picture books, original classic literature or adaptations, quality fiction, and/or poetry.  Each weekly selection will have a short biography of the author, reading assignments, comprehension and discussion questions, narration suggestions, vocabulary, and additional project or activity ideas.  While it is ideal for you to read what your student is reading for maximum discussion possibility, I have written this with the knowledge that homeschooling parents are stretched thin (myself included!).  Student pages will give the reading assignment and questions without answers so that the student can work independently.  Teacher/mentor pages will include the questions and possible answers for ease of use.

Is this Religious or Secular?

House of Learning Literature is a secular program with the option of adding religion (via House of Learning Literature Plus Faith).  You get to pick which one would best suit your family’s homeschooling needs!  I know I always appreciate options when I’m looking at homeschool curriculum choices and I like to choose secular programs to avoid editing out religious content that doesn’t apply to my family.

When will it be ready?

I hope to have the first volume of House of Learning Literature ready by mid-summer 2009.

Can I help you test it?

If you would like to be one of the tester families, please let me know by sending me an email (classicalhouseoflearning @ gmail dot com)!  Tester families will receive free copies of lessons from the House of Learning Literature eBook as they become available.

How much will it cost?

I want this to be affordable since I know those homeschooling dollars are stretched!  This is a big project.  I do, however, feel strongly about making sure House of Learning Literature is a feasible option.  My goal is to price it reasonably.  I’ll know more about price once I’m closer to finishing. I’ll sort it out after I get the darn thing written! 🙂

About Laura

I've been homeschooling since 2005. I have six children (born 2000 - 2012). We are eclectic in our approach with a bit more Well-Trained Mind philosophy over anything else.
This entry was posted in Literature, News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

